david l puga music

Producer, Remixer, Graphic Designer

Retro Sound System 2, Electric Boogaloo

In keeping with the theme of summing up last year to get this year rolling right, I'm happy to announce my next music release! Retro Sound System of the Future 2! While it is the second EP using that name (get the first here), it's more a spiritual sequel than a straight sequel. While RSS1 was more just dreamy pop synthwave, this one is darker & more cinematic.

 Last year, my wife & I binged Stranger things in a weekend, & that coupled with Mr. Robot... as well as me jumping back into all the classic cyberpunk/ sci-fi stuff I love, as well as just listening to tons of 80s inspired synthwave music, well, it inspired me to make some of my own.

 There's a lot of John Carpenter, & Vangelis throughout this album. I imagined a future noir dystopia, because why not, & went from there. While there were a lot of track that ended up on the cutting room floor, I feel these 4 have a good narrative. The prologue, the future club song, the hero's theme, & the night drive into the dawn of a new day. Hopefully, it takes you on that journey, & you dig it!

 Ir releases February 14, 2017, but you can preorder it now & get "Errant Signal" now! Do it below, or on the listen tab up top if you're so inclined! Alternatively, you can download the sampler up top & preview it over & over again!

P.S. If you were a little curious as to what exactly inspired this album well, here's some good stuff! Listing everything would be a massive entry!


  • "Stranger Things"
  • "Mr. Robot"
  • "Escape from New York"
  • "The Matrix Series"
  • "Blade Runner"
  • "The Terminator"
  • "Deus Ex: Human Revolution"
  • "Mass Effect Trilogy"
  • "Black Mirror"


  • "The Sprawl Trilogy" by William Gibson
  • The Fifth Column Series" by Nathan M. Farrugia
  • "Ready Player One" by Ernest Cline
  • "Metrophage" by Richard Kadrey
  • "Wool" by Hugh Howey
  • "The Windup Girl" by Paolo Bacigalupi 


  • "I Am the Night" by Perturbator
  • "Attack of Lord Retro" by Justin Lassen
  • Trilogy" by Carpenter Brut
  • "The Shape" by Dance With the Dead
  • Everything on New Retro Wave over on Youtube